S2E8: When can you really get back to your sport after giving birth?

In action
In action
S2E8: When can you really get back to your sport after giving birth?
/

After giving birth, when can you start running again? To walk? To ride a bike? Are there activities to avoid or, on the contrary, others that must absolutely be included?

These are the questions that Sarah Baribeau, kinesiologist, physiotherapist and founder of Bougeotte and Placotine, will respond in this podcast.

Daniel: Tell us about Bougeotte and Placotine?

Sarah: Bougeotte and Placotine, they are fitness centers in which we offer group classes designed for pregnant women and new mothers. We have three centers in the Quebec City area and 2 franchises, one in Montreal and one in Sherbrooke.

With a master's degree in perinatal care in hand, my goal was to offer courses according to the phases of pregnancy and rehabilitation in the postnatal period. Our centers thus offer very diverse semi-private lessons (6 to 8 people) in physical spaces, designed to accommodate families.

Daniel: How do you juggle with the fact that your target clientele is transient, that is to say women in the postnatal period?

Sarah: We are very involved with health professionals: presentations in medical clinics, training with gynecologists, etc. We are also in close collaboration with perineal physiotherapists, which means that we are very often referred. All this brings a very good turnover in our clientele.

Daniel: With the current pandemic, your centers are currently closed but you are preparing their reopening if I'm not mistaken?

Sarah: Absolutely! We started outdoor classes again in February while our centers will reopen at the beginning of April. Otherwise, we still have the option of virtual lessons currently running on our website.

Daniel: Let's talk a little about perinatal care. What are the steps to follow for getting back in shape after childbirth?

Sarah: We must first know that there is no universal rule except for the word progression! Every woman has a different level of fitness before pregnancy, a different level of fitness during pregnancy, childbirth is also unique, and finally, the baby that follows is unique. The analysis of all this must be done and tint the fitness.

Thus, a woman who, for example, has been running throughout her pregnancy and who has had a good delivery, will be able to recover more quickly. Despite everything, no woman escapes pregnancy hormones which will greatly impact the stability of the pelvis and the deep muscles that support the organs.

I often use the analogy of a strain… it's like your pelvic floor and abs are sprained. Depending on the grade, you can train on it but you have to be careful and listen.

As a general rule, complete rest for 10 days after childbirth is recommended. You should know that the post-natal rest period is necessary since, in addition to childbirth which is very demanding, the muscles are very loose and too stretched. On the other hand, you can perform light exercises such as abdominal breathing, contracting / relaxing the pelvic floor, moving the diaphragm, etc.

After the 10 days, we must see what the future physical goals are, but one thing is certain, we must initiate the strengthening of the deep muscles by creating stress but while respecting a progression.

The 6 to 8 weeks following childbirth is a period of tissue healing and therefore a critical period since there is a certain inflammatory system that has been created. The right amount of effort is essential.

We must then aim to eliminate all symptoms related to pregnancy and childbirth in the first 3 months. Indeed, if the symptoms are still present after this period and the mother has done nothing to counter it, she has a 9 out of 10 chance of keeping pelvic floor problems within 5 years!

From 3 months, there are a host of factors that ultimately come into play. Some girls start running again after 6 weeks! On the other hand, we must keep in mind that as long as the woman does not restart her normal menstrual cycle, she still has pregnancy hormones which bring a hormonal imbalance, therefore, a reduced capacity for tissue healing. That being said, it is indeed a good enough time to start getting back into shape by following a progression.

Daniel: Do you suggest making an appointment with a physiotherapist or doctor before starting to work out again?

Sarah: the best thing is to go see a perineal physiotherapist in the post-natal period, that is to say well before childbirth. The physio can sometimes detect small points to work that can make a big difference during childbirth and after it.

Subsequently, 6 to 8 weeks after childbirth, a visit to the perineal physiotherapist is also recommended. The advice of a professional is very reassuring for the mother who is starting her fitness.

Meeting or not, the feelings and perceptions of the mother are very important when she starts moving again. There is a lot of trial and error but maintaining a respectable progression the risks are low.

Daniel: Knowing that pregnancy and the perinatal period are trying and that health professionals are often colored by their own experience, I imagine that it must be a big challenge to manage your clientele with detachment?

Sarah: in fact, the majority of kinesiologists at Bougeotte and Placotine are not mothers. On the other hand, we have seen a huge amount of mother profiles so I think that helps us to manage everything well and to supervise our clients in an adequate way.

You should also know that the role of a kinesiologist is support and not support. It is the mothers who hold the reins of their rehabilitation and we are there to guide them in the process. Experience makes it possible to have agility with clients.

Daniel: Beyond the reopening of your centers, what are your future projects?

Sarah: we would like to open new Bougeotte and Placotine and position ourselves more in terms of our expertise. Our primary goal remains the same: to get as many mothers moving as possible, regardless of their location. We are currently attacking franchises and we would very much like to leave the province of Quebec.

Leave a comment

S2E8 : Quand peut-on réellement se remettre à son sport après un accouchement?

En Action
En Action
S2E8 : Quand peut-on réellement se remettre à son sport après un accouchement?
/

Suite à un accouchement, à quel moment peut-on recommencer à courir? À marcher? À faire du vélo? Est-ce qu’il y a des activités à éviter ou au contraire, d’autres qu’il faut absolument inclure?

C’est à ces questions que Sarah Baribeau, kinésiologue, kinésithérapeute et fondatrice de Bougeotte et Placotine, répondra dans ce podcast.

Daniel : Parle nous de Bougeotte et Placotine?

Sarah : Bougeotte et Placotine, ce sont des centres de mise en forme dans lesquels on offre des cours de groupe conçus pour la femme enceinte et la nouvelle maman. Nous avons trois centres dans la région de Québec et 2 franchises, une à Montréal et une à Sherbrooke.

Maîtrise en périnatalité en main, mon objectif était d’offrir des cours selon les phases de la grossesse et de rééducation en période postnatale. Nos centres offrent ainsi des cours semi-privés (6 à 8 personnes) très diversifiés dans des espaces physiques, conçus pour accueillir les familles.

Daniel : Comment jonglez-vous avec le fait que votre clientèle cible est passagère, c’est-à-dire des femmes en période postnatale?

Sarah : Nous sommes beaucoup impliqués avec des professionnels de la santé : présentations dans des cliniques médicales, formations avec les gynécologues, etc. Nous sommes également en étroite collaboration avec les physiothérapeutes périnéales, ce qui fait en sorte qu’on est très souvent référés. Tout ça amène un très beau roulement dans notre clientèle.

Daniel : Avec la pandémie actuelle, tes centres sont actuellement fermés mais tu prépares leur réouverture si je ne me trompe pas?

Sarah : Tout à fait! Nous avons recommencé les cours extérieurs en février tandis que nos centres rouvriront début avril. Sinon, on a toujours l’option de cours virtuels qui roule actuellement sur notre site web.

Daniel : Parlons un peu de périnatalité. Quels sont les étapes à suivre pour la remise en forme après un accouchement?

Sarah : On doit abord savoir qu’il n’y a aucune règle universelle si ce n’est que le mot progression! Chaque femme a un niveau de forme physique différent avant la grossesse, un niveau de forme physique différent pendant la grossesses, l’accouchement est également unique et pour finir, le bébé qui suit est unique. L’analyse de tout ça doit se faire et vient teinter la remise en forme.

Ainsi, une femme qui, par exemple, a couru pendant toute sa grossesse et qui a connu un bel accouchement, pourra reprendre plus rapidement. Malgré tout, aucune femme n’échappe aux hormones de grossesses qui vont impacter beaucoup la stabilité du bassin et des muscles profonds qui soutiennent les organes.

Je fais souvent l’analogie avec une foulure…c’est comme si votre plancher pelvien et vos abdos étaient foulés. Selon le grade, on peut s’entraîner dessus mais on se doit d’être prudentes et à l’écoute.

Règle générale, on recommande du repos complet les 10 jours suivants l’accouchement. On doit savoir que la période de repos en post-natale est nécessaire puisque, outre l’accouchement qui est très exigeant, les muscles sont très lâches et trop étirés. On peut par contre effectuer de légers exercices comme la respiration abdominale, le contracte/relâche du plancher pelvien, bouger le diaphragme, etc.

Après les 10 jours, on doit voir quels sont les objectifs physiques futurs mais chose certaine, on doit enclencher le renforcement de la musculature profonde en lui créant du stress mais tout en respectant une progression.

Les 6 à 8 semaines qui suivent l’accouchement est une période de guérisons des tissus donc une période critique puisqu’il y a un certain système inflammatoire qui s’est créé. Le dosage de l’effort est de mise.

On doit ensuite avoir comme objectif d’éliminer tous symptômes reliés à la grossesse et l’accouchement dans les premiers 3 mois. En effet, si les symptômes sont toujours présents après cette période et que la maman n’a rien fait pour contrer le tout, elle a 9 chances sur 10 de garder les problématiques liées au plancher pelvien dans les 5 années qui suivent!

À partir de 3 mois, il y a une foule de facteurs qui entrent en bout de compte. Certaines filles recommencent à courir partir de 6 semaines! On doit par contre garder à l’esprit que tant que la femme ne recommence pas son cycle menstruel normal, elle a encore des hormones de grossesses qui apportent un déséquilibre hormonal donc, une capacité moindre à la guérison des tissus. Ceci étant dit, c’est en effet un moment assez juste pour débuter la remise en forme en suivant une progression.

Daniel : Suggères-tu de prendre un rv avec un physiothérapeute ou médecin avant de recommencer le remise en forme?

Sarah : la meilleure chose, c’est d’aller voir un physiothérapeute périnéale en période post-natale, c’est-à-dire bien avant l’accouchement. Le physio peut parfois détecter de petits points à travailler qui peuvent faire une grosse différence à l’accouchement et après celui-ci.

Par la suite, 6 à 8 semaines après l’accouchement, une visite chez le physiothérapeute périnéale est également recommandé. L’avis d’un professionnel est très sécurisant pour la maman qui débute sa remise en forme.

Rencontre ou pas, les sensations et perceptions de la mère sont très importantes lorsqu’elle recommence à bouger. Il y a beaucoup d’essais et erreurs mais en maintenant une progression respectable, les risques sont faibles.

Daniel : Sachant que la grossesse et la périnatalité sont des épreuves éprouvantes et que les professionnels de la santé sont souvent teintés par leur propre expérience, j’imagine que ça doit être un défi de taille de gérer ta clientèle avec détachement?

Sarah : en fait, la majorité des kinésiologues chez Bougeotte et Placotine ne sont pas mamans. D’un autre côté, on a vu une quantité énorme de profils de mamans donc je crois que ça nous aide à bien gérer le tout et à encadrer nos clientes de façon adéquate.

Il faut également savoir que le rôle d’un kinésiologue est l’accompagnement et non une prise en charge. Ce sont les mamans qui tiennent les reines de leur rééducation et nous sommes présents pour les guider dans le processus. L’expérience permet d’avoir une agilité avec les clientes.

Daniel: Au-delà de la réouverture de tes centres, quels sont tes projets futurs?

Sarah : on aimerait ouvrir de nouveaux Bougeotte et Placotine et se positionner davantage au niveau de notre expertise. Notre objectif primaire demeure le même : faire bouger le plus de mamans possible, et ce, peu importe leur localisation. On attaque actuellement les franchises et on aimerait beaucoup sortir de la province de Québec.

Laisser un commentaire